2022 FIFA World Cup Qualification: All You Need to Know.

So, the World Cup is coming up. You probably knew that. And you probably also know that in order to participate, your country has to qualify.

Qualifying for the world cup can seem pretty daunting. There are a lot of teams and a lot of games. But we're here to help. We'll break down everything you need to know about world cup qualification in South America, from schedules to Standings to which teams are most likely to make it to Russia.

What Is the FIFA World Cup?

The FIFA World Cup is the most prestigious international association football tournament in the world. It is contested by the men's national teams of the member associations of FIFA, the sport's global governing body. The championship has been awarded every four years since 1930, with the exception of 1942 and 1946, due to World War II.

The current format of the tournament involves 32 teams competing in a group stage, followed by a knockout stage. Teams are divided into eight groups of four, with the top two teams from each group advancing to the knockout stage. The knockout stage then progresses from the round of 16 to the quarterfinals, semifinals, and finally the championship game.

How Often Is the FIFA World Cup Held?

The FIFA World Cup is usually held every four years. However, because of the international events that have been happening, like World War II, the FIFA World Cup was not held in 1942, 1946, or 1950.

The next FIFA World Cup will be taking place in 2022. That year, Qatar will be the host country.

Who Can Participate in the FIFA World Cup?

The FIFA World Cup is the biggest and most prestigious international football tournament in the world. Held every four years, it features 32 of the best national teams from all over the planet.

Qualify for the World Cup by winning their respective continental championships (Africa, Asia, Europe, North and Central America and Caribbean, South America). The exception to this is Oceania, which has a qualifying tournament of its own.

What Is the Process for Qualifying for the FIFA World Cup?

The process for qualifying for the FIFA World Cup is actually quite complicated. For the 2022 FIFA World Cup, there will be a total of 32 teams that qualified directly through their performances in the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

The other 20 teams will come from a variety of different sources. There are six slots that are reserved for continental champions, which will be determined by the Confederation of African Football, the Asian Football Confederation, the Union of European Football Associations, CONCACAF, CONMEBOL, and Oceania Football Confederation.

The final spot will go to the team that wins the FIFA Confederations Cup, which is a tournament between the continental champions.

How Many Teams From Each Confederation Qualify for the FIFA World Cup?

The FIFA World Cup is held every four years and consists of 32 national teams. Of these 32 teams, 20 have qualified automatically by virtue of their ranking in the FIFA World Rankings, while the remaining 12 have qualified via a playoff system.

The top seven teams in the FIFA World Rankings automatically qualify for the World Cup. These are the teams that have consistently performed well in international competitions and have maintained their ranking over a four-year period.

The next best 16 teams in the world compete in a playoff system for the remaining 12 spots. The playoffs are held over two legs, with the winner of each match progressing to the next round. The final playoff spot is decided by a single match, held at a neutral venue.

What Are the Current FIFA World Cup Qualifiers?

The 2022 FIFA World Cup will be the 22nd edition of the event, and is scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. This will be the first World Cup ever to be held in the Arab world, and the second in Asia (after Japan and South Korea hosted the 2002 tournament).

As of June 2020, a total of 80 teams have qualified for the World Cup. The qualified teams will be divided into eight groups of four, with each group playing a round-robin tournament. The top two teams from each group will advance to the knockout stage, which will consist of a Round of 16, a quarter-final, a semi-final, and a final.

The 2022 FIFA World Cup qualification process will involve all 211 member associations of FIFA. For the first time in history, all national teams registered with FIFA will have the opportunity to compete in the qualification process.

Who Are Some Notable Teams That Did Not Qualify for the 2018 FIFA World Cup?

You might be wondering which teams from South America did not make the cut for the 2018 FIFA World Cup. 

Here are some notable teams:

- Brazil: The most successful team in World Cup history, with five titles, did not qualify for the 2018 tournament. They were beaten by Chile in a playoff.

- Uruguay: One of the two South American teams to have won the World Cup, Uruguay also failed to qualify for the 2018 tournament. They lost to Peru in the playoff.

- Venezuela: Venezuela had never before qualified for a World Cup, but they came close in 2018, finishing fifth in the standings.

- Colombia: Colombia were one of the favorites to win the 2018 World Cup, but they finished sixth in the standings and missed out on a spot in the playoffs.

What Can Fans Expect From the 2022 FIFA World Cup?

The 2022 FIFA World Cup is scheduled to take place in Qatar from November 21st to December 18th. This will be the first World Cup held in the Arab world and the first in a Muslim-majority country.

The tournament was originally supposed to take place in the summer of 2022, but due to the extreme heat in Qatar, it was moved to the winter. This means that the World Cup will be held during the European club football season, which could create some scheduling conflicts.

Despite this, fans can expect an exciting tournament with 32 teams competing for the title of world champions. The winner of the 2018 World Cup, France, will be looking to defend their title, but they will have stiff competition from traditional powerhouses like Brazil, Germany, and Argentina.


So there you have it! All you need to know about the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualification in South America. We hope this article has been informative and has helped clear up any confusion you may have had. Be sure to stay tuned for more updates on the qualifiers as the competition heats up!

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post